MIBEL Prize: Research on the energy transition

The paper “Market Power and Price Exposure: Learning from Changes in Renewable Energy Regulation” (Natalia Fabra and Imelda, American Economic Journal: Economic Policy. Forthcoming) has been the winner of the 2nd Edition of MIBEL Prize.

This prize awards the best academic research on the Iberian Electricity Market and the energy transition.
The ceremony will take place on June 6, 2023, at the Comisión Nacional de los Mercados y la Competencia (CNMC).

Read the paper here.
Press release (in Spanish) here.
Acceptance speech (in Spanish) here.

Florencia Airaudo finalist of the Young Economist Price ( European Central Bank)

The selected finalists will have the unique opportunity to attend the ECB Forum on Central Banking from 26 to 28 June 2023. Their research papers will be available on the ECB’s website and will be shared with all Forum participants, including policymakers, top academics and market economists from around the world.

Florencia submitted her Paper: “Exit strategies from quantitative easing: the role of the fiscal-monetary Policy mix

“I study quantitative tightening (QT) policies in a model for the US. I find that the macroeconomic impact of QT hinges on the fiscal-monetary policy mix. QT contributes to faster disinflation but only under the appropriate fiscal framework to stabilize the public debt.”

PhD students at the ENTER Jamboree 2023 Conference

The Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona hosted the last edition of the ENTER Jamboree Conference held on 1-2 June
The ENTER Network (European Network for Training in Economic Research) to which the Department of Economics belongs organises every year the annual Conference in one of the 8 Universities that form this Network.

In this edition the students of the PhD Programme have participated:

Carmela Accetura
– Lukas Andrés Delgado
– Camila Steffens
– Andrey David Ramos
– Oleksandra Cheipesh
– Joan Alegre
– Alejandro Puerta
– María Alexandra Castellanos

The professor, Johannes Schneider, has participated in representation of the Faculty of the Department.

Econometric Game 2023

Our team, consisting of Alejandro Puerta Cuartas as captain, Oleksandra Cheipesh, Andrea del Pizzo, and Vedant Bhardwaj, has made it to the final round of the competition. The following teams have also made it to the final: ENSAE, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, University of Bologna, Oxford University, University of Warsaw, Harvard University, University St. Gallen, Lund University, Vrije University, and the University of Orléans.

The top three teams in the final were Warsaw University in first place, the University of Bologna in second place, and Vrije University in third place.

This competition, which involves teams from a selection of International Universities, challenges its participants to solve a case study of Econometrics subsequently evaluated by a jury of independent and qualified professors.

The UC3M Department of Economics has won the competition three times since 2007 (the first year of participation of the Department of Economics). In 2018, the team composed by Miguel Ángel Cabello, Yuhao Li, Francisco Pareschi and Julius Vainora, won the contest ahead of Harvard and Copenhagen University teams in a competition in which 30 universities participated. The UC3M is one of the few universities that has won the award three times.